"World Music" by Bokani Dyer

Brand new release by Bokani Dyer entitled "World Music" has been available since 1st July with the unofficial album launch at the opening of the National Arts Festival Jazz program this year. The 12 track album is the follow up to 'Emancipate the Story' released in 2011 (also launched at the National Arts Festival the same year) The compositions on the new record span from shortly after the release of Dyer's previous album to more current compositions performed with the newly formed "Bokani Dyer Trio". The sound of this album is an expression of embracing all musical heritage and claiming the ambiguous term "World Music" to describe it. From Bach to Soul, to Ellington to Mbira music, no influence in Bokani Dyer's musical make-up is left unexplored. It is a colorful musical exploration of instrumental music which is as historically aware as it is currently concious - a celebration of all music with no borders.

The album features Bokani Dyer (piano, keyboards, synthesizer) Shane Cooper(bass), Marlon Witbooi (drums), Buddy Wells (tenor saxophone), Justin Bellairs (alto saxophone), Robin Fassie-Kock (trumpet), Sakhile Moleshe (vocals), Lee-Anne Fortuin (vocals) and John Hassan (percussion and vocals)